Resources for IFDT website

Opening of Annual Meeting of South African ambassadors

Science Diplomacy Capacity Development: Where Do We Go From Here? (WebDebate #55)

Date: Thursday, 14th July, 13:00 UTC (09:00 EDT | 15:00 CEST | 21:00 CST) For both diplomats and scientists, science diplomacy has become an important topic and practice. It is discussed as an important contribution to solving some of the most…
Opening of Annual Meeting of South African ambassadors

Increasing innovative diplomacy in South Africa

, , ,
Photo by Yandisa Monakali Diplomats need to be more innovative and find new ways of practicing their craft. This was the underlying message of South Africa’s President Cyril Ramaphosa during the 2022 Heads of Missions conference…
Opening of Annual Meeting of South African ambassadors

Science Diplomacy in 2022: More Cooperation or More Division? (WebDebate #54)

Date: Tuesday, 5th April, 13:00 UTC (09:00 EDT | 15:00 CEST | 21:00 CST) Science diplomacy offers many tools to foster collaboration among states and other stakeholders. In this way, the practice can lead to increased mutual understanding and…
Opening of Annual Meeting of South African ambassadors

Science diplomacy: The road ahead in 2022 (WebDebate #53)

Date: Tuesday, 1st March, at 13:00 UTC (08:00 EST | 14:00 CET | 21:00 CST) Over the last couple of years, science diplomacy has become an increasingly important concept and practice. Many institutions and individuals have turned to science…
Opening of Annual Meeting of South African ambassadors

#Diplomacy: Internet and social media [A historical journey #10]

In the November episode of our History of Diplomacy and Technology series, we will analyse the impact the internet and social media have on diplomacy. Diplomats use the internet for meetings,  sharing information, negotiating, and communicating.…
Opening of Annual Meeting of South African ambassadors

[WebDebate #51] International organisations: Independence under threat?

Event date: Tuesday, 2nd November, 13:00 UTC (09:00 EDT | 14:00 CET | 21:00 CST) International organisations have always been faced with two very different tasks. On the one hand, they serve as a venue for states to shape the global agenda,…
Opening of Annual Meeting of South African ambassadors

[WebDebate #50] Training cyber diplomats: Tools, gaps, and opportunities

Diplomats need to be ready to address digital topics adequately and to harness the challenges and opportunities brought about by digitalisation and emerging digital technologies. Whether we are talking about security, commerce, health, or human…