Diplo administrators, staff and associates are a dynamic and diverse team, consisting of highly experienced diplomats, academics, learning specialists, and computer programmers. Diplo operates from three offices (Geneva, Belgrade, and Malta), but the majority of staff and associates work on-line, spread worldwide from the Pacific Islands to Latin America. Our approach is multidisciplinary and each of our staff members is involved in a number of activities. 


Board of Administrators

Dietrich Kappeler – Honorary President of DiploFoundation
Diplo Senior Fellow and former Director, Mediterranean Academy of Diplomatic Studies, Malta

Victor Camilleri – President
Ambassador of Malta to Libya

André Liebich – Vice President
Professor, International History and Politics, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva

Saviour F. Borg
Ambassador and former Permanent Representative of Malta to the UN

Isabelle Calleja Ragonesi
Head of International Relations Department, University of Malta

Maud Dlomo
Deputy Director-General for Diplomatic Training, Research and Development
Department of International Relations and Cooperation – South Africa

Nermine El Saadany
Director of International Relations, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, Egypt

Alexandre Fasel
Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations Office and to the International Organisations in Geneva

Jovan Kurbalija – Secretary of the Board
Director of DiploFoundation


Senior Management Team

Jovan Kurbalija – Founding Director

Dr Jovan Kurbalija is the founding director of DiploFoundation, currently based in Geneva, Switzerland. He is a former diplomat with a professional and academic background in international law, diplomacy and information technology. In 1992, he established the Unit for IT and Diplomacy at the Mediterranean Academy of Diplomatic Studies in Malta. In 2002, after more than ten years of successful work in training, research and publishing, the Unit evolved into DiploFoundation. Dr Kurbalija currently directs online learning courses on ICT and diplomacy and lectures in academic and training institutions in Switzerland, the United States, Austria, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Malta. His main areas of research are diplomacy and the development of an international Internet regime, the use of hypertext in diplomacy, online negotiations and diplomatic law. He can be contacted using jovank@diplomacy.edu

Dejan Dinčić – Technical Director

Dejan is technical director of DiploFoundation, where he designs software and co-ordinates technical activities supporting innovative online learning and research programmes. With a professional and academic background in information and educational technologies, Dejan has more than 20 years of experience in information architecture and management, online communications and systems design. Before joining DiploFoundation, he worked on harnessing the potential of information and communication technologies in the developing world. His major research interests include software usability, instructional design and online communities facilitation. Dejan can be contacted using dejan@diplomacy.edu

Hannah Slavik – Educational Programmes Director

Hannah has been the Educational Programmes Director for Diplo since 2003 and has worked with Diplo since 1999. She is currently responsible for designing learning methodologies, planning educational policy, cooperation with partner institutions, and online course development and implementation. She has also edited three Diplo publications: Language and Diplomacy, Intercultural Communication and Diplomacy, and Roma Diplomacy. Hannah has an academic background in linguistics, holding an MA from the University of Malta and a BA from the University of Victoria, Canada. She also holds a Postgraduate Diploma in Open and Distance Education from the Open University, UK. Originally from western Canada, she currently lives in Bucharest, Romania and can be contacted at hslavik@diplomacy.edu

Mary Murphy – Director of Operations

Mary joined the Diplo Team in July 2010. Originally from Ireland, she is now based in Budapest, Hungary from where she oversees Diplo's operations and external communications. Mary has had a varied career in operations and administration, with work experience in the financial, energy, NGO, communications training, public speaking, and publishing sectors in Ireland, the UK, Hungary, and the USA. She holds an MA in International Publishing from Oxford Brookes, UK, and a Master in Contemporary Diplomacy from the University of Malta. Mary can be contacted at MaryM@diplomacy.edu    


Senior Fellows

Geoff Berridge, Professor Emeritus, University of Leicester
Eduardo Gelbstein, former Director of the UN Information Center
Aldo Matteucci, former Deputy Secretary General of EFTA
Laurence Pope, former US amabssador
Kishan Rana, Professor Emeritus and former Indian ambassador
Alex Sceberras Trigona, former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Malta



Martin Aquilina, Finance Manager
Miodrag Badnjar, Media Developer Online Courses
Patrick Borg, Master/PGD in Contemporary Diplomacy Co-ordinator
Stephanie Borg Psaila, Internet Governance programmes
Sylvie Buhagiar, Accounts Clerk Creditors and HR Assistant
Matthew Bugeja, Accounts Clerk Debtors
Tereza Horejsova, Geneva Office Manager
Jelena Jakovljevic, Website Manager
Arvin Kamberi, Multimedia Co-ordinator
Nikola Krstic, Senior Software Developer and Belgrade Office Manager
Branislav Kurbalija, Software Developer
Dragana Markovski, Online Programmes Assistant
Goran S. Milovanovic, PhD, Data Scientist
Mina Mudric, Publications Manager
Tanja Nikolic, Course Admissions Co-ordinator
Virginia (Ginger) Paque, Internet Governance Programmes Co-ordinator
Vladimir Radunovic, E-diplomacy and Cybersecurity Programmes Director
Vera Rihackova, Project Development Officer
Andrej Skrinjaric, Online Programmes Co-ordinator
Vladimir Veljasevic, Illustrator
Milica Virijevic Konstantinovic, Office Administrator Belgrade, and Travel and Workshop Co-ordinator
and Carmelo P. Romano, from Clever Solutions Ltd providing IT Support