People

andré xuereb
André Xuereb
Associate Professor, Department of Physics, University of Malta

André Xuereb is Malta’s ambassador for Digital Affairs within the Ministry for Foreign and European Affairs. A physicist by training, he read for a BSc in Mathematics and Physics at the University of Malta, an MA in Entrepreneurship at the University of Malta, and a PhD in Theoretical Physics at the University of Southampton, UK. He is currently reading for an MA in Diplomacy. André is associate professor and head of the Department of Physics at the University of Malta. He founded and leads the quantum research group Quantumalta at the University of Malta.

Outside his diplomatic and academic life, André co-owns an educational software start-up, and is chief scientific officer of a sustainable mobility start-up. He is happily married to a lawyer, a proud father of a beautiful daughter, and owns far more guitars than he has talent.

 

André Xuereb is Malta’s ambassador for Digital Affairs. A physicist by training, he read for an undergraduate degree in mathematics and physics at the University of Malta, a PhD in theoretical physics at the University of Southampton in the UK, and a master’s degree in entrepreneurship at the University of Malta. He is currently reading for a master’s degree in diplomacy.

 

André is an associate professor and head of the Department of Physics at the University of Malta. He has established and leads the quantum research group at the University of Malta. Outside his diplomatic and academic life, André co-owns an educational software startup and is chief scientific officer of a sustainable mobility startup. He is happily married to a lawyer, a proud father of a beautiful daughter, and owns far more guitars than he has talent.

Related events

Science diplomacy: The road ahead in 2022 (WebDebate #53)

Date: Tuesday, 1st March, at 13:00 UTC (08:00 EST | 14:00 CET | 21:00 CST) Over the last couple of years, science diplomacy has become an increasingly important concept and practice. Many institutions and individuals...

Related blogs

Quo vadis, United Nations?: Is the UN system too complex for its own good and how relevant is it today?

Human history, as in fact the story of life itself, is a series of false starts, missteps, and incremental improvements, punctuated with very occasional quantum leaps. In diplomacy and politics, just as in evolution, ...