WMO, 7bis, Avenue de la Paix, Geneva | Remote participation
13 Jun 2014
Other

The discussion on Bitcoins and digital currencies, including security and privacy issues, is quickly gaining ground. But what are digital currencies, and how do they work? What is the value of this ‘digital money’ and the economic impact? Most importantly, how secure and private are these transactions, and what is the role of cryptography in them?

Update: check out the photo gallery and full recording of the discussion.

DiploFoundation, in cooperation with the Swiss Bitcoin Association, organised a not-to-be-missed discussion on some of the most pressing issues related to digital currencies. A Bitcoin ATM machine was on display.

The panel also discussed: are fluctuations in Bitcoin value important? What are the risks of an anonymous and decentralised currency system? How do regulators around the world react to cryptocurrencies? What is next?

The discussion took place on Friday, 13th June, at 12:30 p.m CET (10:30 a.m. UTC/GMT), at WMO, 7bis, Avenue de la Paix, Geneva. 

Programme

12:30 - 13:00 CET
(10:30 - 11:00 GMT)
Light refreshments with a Bitcoin ATM machine on display

13:00 - 14:00 CET
(11:00 - 12:00 GMT)

Welcome by Dr Jovan Kurbalija, Director, DiploFoundation and the Geneva Internet Platform
 
Contributions on political, technical, business and developmental aspects of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies by Mathieu Buffenoir and Alexis Roussel (Swiss Bitcoin Association), Chiara von Gulten (Z/Yen) and William Taborda (UNCTAD). 

Moderated by Diplo's technical director Dejan Dincic

14:00 - 14.30 CET
(12:00 - 12:30 GMT)
Discussion

The event took place within the framework of the Geneva Internet Platform.
For more information or queries, e-mail us at gip@diplomacy.edu.

Update: check out the photo gallery and full recording of the discussion.