Czechia signs Artemis Accords

Czechia became the 24th country to join the Artemis Accords – a set of nonbinding commitments to facilitate the peaceful and safe exploration of outer space. The Accords were announced in 2020 by NASA and the US Department of State, and are now signed by a total of 24 countries: Australia, Bahrain, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Czechia, France, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, New Zealand, Nigeria, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, the UK, and the USA. 

Speaking at the Accords signing ceremony in Washington, Czechia’s Foreign Minister Jan Lipavský said that ‘Czechia’s space ecosystem has a lot to offer. We believe that this signature will kick-start the development of an institutional and industrial cooperation within the Artemis community, as well as directly between Czechia and the U.S., in the field of space activities.’