Council of Europe

Address: Avenue de l’Europe F - 67075 Strasbourg Cedex, Strasbourg, France


The Council of Europe is an European intergovernmental organisation with 47 member states, which was set up to promote democracy and protect human rights and the rule of law in Europe.

The activities of the Council focus on three major areas: protection and promotion of human rights; promotion of democratic governance and support for sustainable democratic societies; and rule of law.

Read more about the Council of Europe.