Spain joins Artemis Accords

Spain became the 25th country to join the Artemis Accords – a set of nonbinding principles, guidelines, and best practices to enhance the governance of the civil exploration and use of outer space. The Accords were announced in 2020 by NASA and the US Department of State, and are now signed by a total of 25 countries: Australia, Bahrain, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Czechia, France, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, New Zealand, Nigeria, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, the UK, and the USA. 

Speaking at the Accords signing ceremony in Madrid, Pedro Sánchez, President of Spain said that ‘space is an example of international collaboration and a priority for our country’s vision. We are witnessing a commitment by the Government of Spain to a key sector that generates opportunities and high-quality employment, which is a priority and strategic area, essential to help and protect our society.’