lighting, Diplomacy

Masterclass on History of Diplomacy and Technology

28 January 2021

online

Event description

History of diplomacy and technology Diplo website banner 330x220px

A masterclass with Jovan Kurbalija

The longer you can look back, the farther you can look forward.
Winston Churchill

The series Diplomacy and Technology: A historical journey is a set of open monthly Zoom discussions on the evolution of diplomacy and technology, led by Dr Jovan Kurbalija, an expert, with an academic background in international law, diplomacy, and digital technology.

Join us for the first episode on Thursday, 28th January, at 13:00 UTC (08:00 EST | 14:00 CET | 21:00 CST).
Registrations are now closed. You can follow the event on YouTube and Facebook live streams.

See our dedicated page

As we move through history, our aim will be to discover how civilizations dealt with ‘new’ technologies, from simple writing to telegraph, and nowadays the internet.

On 28 January we will set the stage for our learning journey through history, by focusing on:

  • the interplay between continuity and change in the evolution of diplomacy and technology 
  • information and communication (two core pillars of diplomacy)
  • the impact of technology on the political environment in which diplomats operated at the time, the issues they tried to solve, and the tools they used in diplomatic practice 

On this journey, we hope to understand underlying patterns in tech-society interplays, and get some hints on how to deal with current challenges, and those ahead of us.

Join us for the first episode on Thursday, 28th January, at 13:00 UTC (08:00 EST | 14:00 CET | 21:00 CST).

Registrations are now closed. You can follow the event on YouTube:

YouTube player

and Facebook live streams.