Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)

Address: Morne Fortune, Castries, Saint Lucia


The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an intergovernmental organization that promotes economic harmonization and integration, as well as the protection of human and legal rights among its members. Established on June 18, 1981, with the Treaty of Basseterre, the OECS aims to foster good governance and cooperation between countries and territories in the Eastern Caribbean. It consists of seven protocol members and four associate members, all working together to advance their collective interests.

The OECS covers a wide range of activities, including the promotion of free movement of people, advancing regional cooperation on food security, and supporting economic development. It also focuses on environmental sustainability, human and social development, and legal services. The organization celebrates its unity and achievements through various events and has a dedicated Knowledge Centre to support its initiatives. With a commitment to regional integration, the OECS continues to play a pivotal role in shaping the future of the Eastern Caribbean.