The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

Address: IGAD Secretariat Avenue Georges Clemenceau, P.O. Box 2653 Djibouti, Republic of Djibouti


Stakeholder group: International and regional organisation

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) is a trade bloc in Africa consisting of eight countries in the Horn of Africa, Nile Valley, and the African Great Lakes regions. It was established in 1996 to succeed the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD), which was founded in 1986 to address the impact of severe droughts and natural disasters leading to famine, ecological degradation, and economic hardship in the region.

The member countries - Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda, Eritrea, and South Sudan - collaborate in areas such as food security, environmental protection, economic cooperation, regional integration, social development, peace, and security.