Stakeholder group: Initiatives and processes

The G20, otherwise known as the Group of Twenty, is an international forum for governments and central bank governors from 20 major economies: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, the European Union and the African Union.

The Group was initiated in 1999, and, up to 2008, its meeetings were dedicated to finance ministers and central bank governors, who were gathering together to discuss issues related to international financial and monetary policies, reform of international financial institutions, and world economic developments. Starting 2008, the heads of the 20 members also meet at a Leaders' Summit, dedicated to discussions on aspects concerning international economic cooperation and global economic governance. The annual summit is also attended by guest countries and international organisations such as the United Nations, the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, the World Trade Organization, the Financial Stability Board, the International Labour Organisation, and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Internet governance and digital policy related issues have started to feature high on the agenda of the G20 Leaders' Summits over the past few years. Such issues include, amon others: access and digital divide, capacity development, e-commerce, digital economy, trust and security, privacy and data protection.