Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

Address: 7 Ritan Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing, China


Stakeholder group: NGOs and associations

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is an intergovernmental organisation created in 2001 by China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. 

One of the main goals of the organisation is to promote cooperation among its member states in areas such as trade and economy, science and technology, culture, education, and other fields.

The organisation is paying particular attention to issues related to cybersecurity and international norms in this regard. In 2009, the SCO member states reached an agreement about cooperation in the field of ensuring the international information security. In 2011, four of the CSO member states submitted a proposal on a International Code of Conduct for Information Security to the United Nations Secretary-General, for discussions at the UN General Assembly meeting. Later on, in 2015, a revised version of the Code was submitted for consideration to the UN General Assembly, by all five members of SCO. The aim of such a code, as proposed by SCO, would be to identify the rights and responsibilities of states in the information space, and to enhance their cooperation in addressing common threats and challenges in the information space.