Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace

Address: Lange Voorhout 1, 2514 EA The Hague, The Netherlands


Stakeholder group: NGOs and associations

The Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace (GCSC) was established as result of the Global Conference on Cyberspace (GCCS) held in the Netherlands in 2015, and was inaugurated in 2017. It aims at promoting mutual awareness and understanding among the various communities working on issues related to international cybersecurity. The Commission intends to support policy and norms coherence related to the security and stability in and of cyberspace.

The GCSC comprises 27 Commissioners representing a wide range of geographic regions as well as government, industry, technical and civil society stakeholders. Its Chair is Marina Kaljurand, the former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia, and Co-Chairs are Michael Chertoff, the former Secretary of the US Department of Homeland Security, and Latha Reddy, the former Deputy National Security Adviser of India. Special Representatives are supposed to link GCSC with other existing initiatives, like the Global Commission on Internet Governance and the London Process (GCCS).

Within the Commission, a Research Advisory Group conducts scientific research to support the deliberations and publications of the Commissioners. The group's core interaction is founded on four email lists dedicated to areas that the Commission works on: international peace and security of cyberspace, Internet governance, law, and technical and information security.

Main partners of the GCSC are the Government of The Netherlands, Microsoft Corporation, and the Government of Singapore. The Commission is sponsored by the Internet Society and the Government of Estonia, and supported by Packet Clearing House and Black Hat. Two independent think-thanks, The Hague Centre for Strategic Studies (HCSS) and the EastWest Institute (EWI), serve as the secretariat that provide operational support.