European Patent Organisation

Address: Bob‑van‑Benthem‑Platz 1, 80469 München, Germany


The European Patent Organization (EPOrg), founded in 1977, is an international organisation created in 1977 to grant patents in Europe. The European Patent Organization is headquartered in Munich, Germany and is an independent entity from the European Union (EU), and thus includes a number of member states which are not EU states. The EPOrg has two main organs, the European Patent Office, which serves as its executive body, and the Administrative Council, which is equivalent to its supervisory body. The organization has several branches across Europe.