Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Address: 14 Yakubu Gowon Cres, Asokoro, Aso 900103, Federal Capital Territory, Nigeria


Stakeholder group: International and regional organisation

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional economic union comprising 15 countries in West Africa. These countries span an area of 5,114,162 square kilometres (1,974,589 square miles) and have a combined population of over 424.34 million.

The union was established on 28 May 1975 with the signing of the Treaty of Lagos. Its primary goal is to promote economic integration and development in the region, focusing on issues such as trade, transportation, telecommunications, and agriculture. By working together, member states aim to create a more prosperous and stable environment for their citizens. A revised treaty version was agreed upon and signed on 24 July 1993 in Cotonou, the largest city in Benin.

ECOWAS is founded on principles of equity, interdependence, solidarity, cooperation, nonaggression, regional peace, promotion of human rights, and economic and social justice.