Search form

21st Century Diplomacy

Durazo

Useful and thorough insight to contemporary diplomacy for practitioners of this discipline. The course conveys opportune reflections on the evolution of diplomatic tasks and encourage new approaches to diplomacy through intense feedback and benchmarking.

Rafael Barcelo Durazo, Chargé of political and human rights affairs, Mexican Embassy in Costa Rica (September 2011)
Plummer-Antoine

With the advent of globalisation, diplomacy has transformed both in content and nature. Participating in this course has provided greater insight as it relates to the changes in international affairs as a result of globalisation, and how foreign ministries have had to adapt to such changes. My participation in the course has also broadened my knowledge and enhanced my ability to reason.

Shannica Plummer-Antoine, Foreign Service Officer, Regional Unit, Political and Economic Division, Ministry of External Affairs, International Trade and Civil Aviation of Saint Lucia (October 2015)
Bulwaka

The course has helped me to redefine my role as a diplomat, and to appreciate the emerging challenges and responsibilities of diplomacy today including the role of new actors like NGOs, think-tanks and academics. I have learned to appreciate other stakeholders as partners and not competitors to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the conduct of foreign relations. The weekly seminar papers done by the selected seminar teams in the class got us actively researching and exchanging information, it is amazing how much we learned from each other. This kind of networking if maintained will surely enable us achieve much more in our quest to increase knowledge and share best practises in contemporary diplomacy.

Michael Bulwaka, Foreign Service Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Uganda (June 2007)

Bilateral Diplomacy

Huggins

After more than ten years immersed in the multilateral side of the practice of diplomacy and international relations, the Bilateral Diplomacy Course provided me with an invaluable complement to my experience. Though challenging and intense, Ambassador Rana guided us in a manner that allowed us to exchange and discuss the topics and generate ideas, as well as to apply what was learnt to our real-life situations. I was particularly drawn to the myriad theories and aspects of cultural diplomacy, and the role it plays in the successful practice of diplomacy and negotiations, which provided me with new skills that are useful to my work.

Myrna Huggins, Foreign Service Officer III, Head, Economic and Environment Unit, Multilateral Relations Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Communications, Trinidad and Tobago (June, 2011)
Pollard

E-learning with DiploFoundation was a great experience. The innovative online sessions and contact with other students really helped to gain a wide view on the topics discussed. Despite having practised bilateral and multilateral diplomacy, I found the course informative and focussed, such as the benefits and drawbacks of both soft and hard power. This in particular proved useful in completing my understanding of how diplomacy can work at different levels.

Guy Pollard, Second Secretary, Conventional Weapons, UK Disarmament Delegation, Geneva (September 2006)

Capacity Development

Kongin

The course enabled me widen my understanding of different approaches to capacity development. I have been able to review our organizational understanding of capacity development within the context of our beneficiaries and target groups. Most importantly, applying the questions - why capacity development and for whom - has enabled my team and I to review how we view capacity development and reflect on areas of improvement, especially the need to carry out organizational capacity assessments right at the beginning of a program as opposed to mid-way or towards the end.

Harriet Kongin, Adviser, Policy and Strategy, UNAIDS Kenya (April 2015)
Horemans

The course helped me to integrate a lot of knowledge I had gathered over the years into a more coherent framework. This framework was supported by the design of the course which followed a strict logical and temporal pattern, coupled with reflection on one’s own work.

Bart Horemans, Project Coordinator, National Organisational Capacity Development Program, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Belgian Development Agency (April 2015)
Ruiz Gayol

I gained theoretical knowledge of the different stages of a capacity development initiative, such as: assessing capacities at an early stage, assessing change readiness, and mapping a change process based on a theory of change. I knew the importance of these steps, however, I hadn't yet performed them in a coherent, sequential, and systematic way, which allowed for adaptation to any given circumstance.

Diego Ruiz Gayol, Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of Mexico in Haiti (April 2015)
Glasgow

The most practical learning for me is that capacity development should provide an opportunity for people to engage. This same principle was evident in the course and I came out learning more than in a course where I would have read materials, but not engage and be engaged.

Lindonne Glasgow, Community Liaison Officer, Basic Needs Trust Fund, Caribbean Development Bank and Government of Grenada (April 2015)
Yusa

I feel that I learned a lot from the experiences of other people in this course. Sharing our experiences and knowledge encouraged me to conduct capacity development projects in my job. My classmates have struggled with the same and similar situations, can share successful experiences with me, and give advice and useful references, even though we all work in different countries and organizations.

Taiko Yusa, Programme Officer, Peru Country Office, United Nations World Food Programme (December 2013)

Children and Mobile Technology

Faasau

This course has provided me with some necessary tools required to address child online protection; furthermore it established appropriate networks. The most practical thing that I can take away from this course is the sample strategy, this will be the basis on which a child online protection initiative or even cybersecurity can be founded.

Cecily Faasau, Legal Counsel, Office of the Regulator, Samoa (August 2015)
Williams

I can honestly say that I have gotten a wealth of knowledge from this course. These tools will now help me to be better able to contribute to the Internet landscape in my country; something I intend to do without delay.

Ervin Williams, Director of the National Telecommunications Regulatory Commission, St Kitts and Nevis (August 2015)

Consular and Diaspora Diplomacy

Donciu

This course has taught me how essential consular work is, how important my job is and how much I can do for others. That encourages me to do my best for helping and serving my nationals abroad.

Mirela Donciu, Consul, Consulate General of Romania in Bologna, Italy (December 2011)
Durante

Before taking the Consular Diplomacy course, my view of consular work was limited to the narrow perspective that it deals mainly with the issuance of visas and passports. The Consular Diplomacy course steers one away from that stereotypical and restrictive view. It emphasizes the gamut of roles which consulates play, their increasing importance in bridge-building amongst states and peoples and their function as a dynamic facet of a country’s internal and foreign policies. Although my career is not in consular services, I have benefited tremendously from this course and from the excellent presentation of cutting-edge issues in consular diplomacy.

Anna Durante, Crown Counsel, Government of the Virgin Islands (August 2010)
Koch

The quality of materials provided and suggested readings, the focus both on theory and practice, the intense interaction with colleagues around the world and, most particularly, the conscious dedication of our tutors – constantly reviewing our progress and encouraging further thought – are some of the relevant features of the course that I deem important to highlight. I can only add that I still miss our online sessions and daily interaction and, most certainly, I look forward to taking up another DiploFoundation course.

María Celeste Koch, Deputy Chief of Mission Embassy of the Republic of Argentina in Chile (August 2010)
Dougall

Indeed it was an exciting and an extraordinary experience.  Diplo is giving me this golden opportunity, on reaching the age of sixty, so that instead of thinking of retiring, there is much scope in sharing acquired experiences and knowledge with other similar minded persons for mutual benefit.

Joseph Dougall, Honorary Assistant High Commissioner for Sierra Leone in Malta (August 2010)
Mckenzie

The course coordinators…were quite thorough and patient during the initial practices, which made me comfortable and confident, this being my first online class. I not only met and networked with other Foreign Service Officers from around the world, but was exposed to and learned in-depth consular information, experiences and dexterity from all the countries that participated. I also learned about the importance and mutual benefits involved with the relationship between countries and their diaspora, as well as how technology and well-rounded consular officers can work hand-in-hand to provide renown consular services to citizens and foreigners alike.

Charmaine L Mckenzie, Foreign Service Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Commonwealth of the Bahamas (December 2013)

Current Issues in the UN (Multilateral Diplomacy II)

Durante3

There is no greater sense of dynamism than to explore developments as they unfold. Humanitarian aid, intervention in Libya, responsibility to protect, United Nations Security Council reform, drafting and analysis of UN documents … these are but a sample in the rich field of topical issues and practical application through which Dr Petru Dimitriu and his knowledgeable team expertly guided Multilateral Diplomacy II. I now evaluate world events with keener insight and have a wider appreciation of the gargantuan challenges in tackling global concerns. 

Anna Durante, Crown Counsel, Government of the Virgin Islands (May 2011)
Canto

Moving with efficiency in the world of diplomacy in the 21st Century requires understanding the sources, structure and evolution of international bodies, as well as the ever-changing international issues and the effects these have on the world as a whole. Keeping up with the fast changes and the multiplicity of issues is not always easy. Getting involved with Diplo has allowed me to fill in inevitable information and experience gaps. For those of us who have not yet experienced live action in the multilateral arena, Diplo´s course not only offers the possibility of learning from and exchanging views with highly qualified professionals in the field of multilateral diplomacy, but also participating in real-life discussions related to the most current and hotly debated international topics in the United Nations. I can label my participation in the course as a cheering and rewarding experience.

Oswaldo A. Canto, Consul, Embassy of Mexico to Egypt (April, 2012)

Cybersecurity

Galgal

A relevant and applicable look at cybersecurity, taking into account the different aspects of the subject matter. The intuitive e-learning environment allows for informative discussion and interaction between participants and instructors alike. Also, the global composition of both the participants and instructors allows one to gain a useful insight into diverse experiences and views of cybersecurity.

Kasek Galgal, Tutor/Lecturer, Physics Division, University of Papua New Guinea (December 2014)

Cybersecurity for South-Eastern Europe

Zavalani

It’s an excellent course, enjoyable, informative, engaging, and very authoritative. This course develops the knowledge and skills needed to master the core concepts in cyber security. The lectures and complementary reading material were extremely useful. The most valuable part of the course was learning from the contributions of other students.

Valbona Zavalani, Head of IT & Security Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Albania (May 2016)

Development Diplomacy

Alihusain-del Castilho

What I enjoyed most from the Diplo course [Development Diplomacy] was the fact that it opened up a window of  global  experiences and opinions to me through my classmates and professors, allowing me to increase my knowledge and skills at a tremendous speed and depth. It was also very important to me that the Diplo course could be combined with my work schedule…

Angelic Caroline Alihusain-del Castilho, Ambassador, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Suriname (December 2008)
Nyirenda-Jere2

Diplo's Development Diplomacy course is an insightful exploration of the actors, issues and processes that shape international development. The course is structured in a way that allows students to understand the origins and intricacies of development cooperation while having the space to discuss and debate contemporary issues. Being able to relate the underlying history and current debates to my own work was an invaluable experience. I would recommend this course for anyone involved in international development, diplomats and non-diplomats alike.

Towela Nyirenda-Jere, Programme Manager, e-Africa Programme, NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency (December 2013)
Ignatius

…a fabulous journey through the complex and multifaceted territory of diplomacy and development for busy practitioners. The format offers flexibility and convenience to avoid conflict with your official duties. The course is interactive and provides tremendous latitude for engaging in hypertext dialogue with lecturers and other students of diverse countries, cultures and experiences. The most rewarding was the ability to dissect the theory, in the context of daily practice, with adept support from lecturers who have practical field experience. 

Jean Ignatius, IICA Representative in Jamaica, Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA) (December 2012)
Canseco Gómez

I found the Development Diplomacy course challenging and inspiring in equal measure. The lectures and complementary reading material were extremely useful. Even more valuable were the lucid comments and authoritative yet flexible guidance from the course coordinator and lecturers. I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone wishing to deepen their understanding of the most crucial issues in today’s development agenda.

Gonzalo Juan Carlos Canseco Gómez, Director General for Foreign Policy Planning, Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs (December 2012)

Diplomacy of Small States

Tupua Kalou

The Diplomacy of Small States course was an eye opener for me, especially as a government official from a small island state (Fiji). The online lectures, information sharing with other students and lecturers and other resources provided by DiploFoundation were rich, focused on the areas of interest to me and value adding on many dimensions, as we draw parallels to world events, not only of the past but those actually happening on the ground. As a diplomat, it has broadened my knowledge on how small states should be strategically leveraging themselves as important actors in international diplomacy and that size does not necessarily determine the boundaries of outreach and influence in 21st century diplomacy.

Setaita Tupua Kalou, Second Secretary, Fiji Embassy in Brussels (June, 2012)
Shadood

The content provoked the essential strategic thinking required to maximize opportunities for small states in pursuing diplomatic relations across countries and organisations. Coming from a small developing country, this course has provided me with the necessary tools to aid in the execution of my duties.

Safraaz Ahmad Shadood, Foreign Trade Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Guyana (July, 2013)
Wurie

Coming from a small state with limited resources constraints, training of diplomat designates becomes a difficult task. DiploFoundation, in this regard, has provided me with the golden opportunity for which I have been yearning for as a Foreign Service Officer to further my education. I have also had the opportunity of interacting with colleagues in the global classroom, thereby making the teaching methodology within reach. The subject, Diplomacy of Small States, has further strengthened my knowledge and belief that regardless of constraints, some small states have shown their ability to project formidable foreign policy initiatives. The course has to a large extent helped to broaden my horizon at a global level, thanks to the weekly assignments from colleagues, analysing the different perspectives on how small states practice their diplomacy. I therefore, wish to encourage more  Diplomats from emerging economies to capture this opportunity from DiploFoundation in their effort to strengthen their diplomatic skills.

Momodu Wurie, Head of Chancery, Embassy of the Republic of Sierra Leone in Tripoli, Libya (June 2011)
Williams2

As a diplomat of a small state, operating in a dynamic and rapidly changing international environment, I must sharpen my skills and be equipped with the right tools in order to be successful. I particularly enjoyed the rich, constructive exchange of views/ideas among participants. The opportunity to undertake a case study on one small state was truly enlightening. The bonus was the flexibility of studying at my own convenience from the comfort of my home or office and receiving certification, without leaving my country.

Nicholette Williams, Assistant Director/Foreign Service Officer IV, International Organisations Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade of Jamaica (July 2015)

Diplomatic Law: Privileges and Immunities

Francois-Whittier

I would recommend Diplomatic Law: Privileges and Immunities to anyone looking for a deeper understanding of privileges and immunities. It's not just a course for practitioners but one which could benefit anyone from government employees, police officers, lawyers, employees of international organizations and even students. The lecturer was extremely knowlegeable and the administrator was extremely helpful and attentive. I had the opportunity to interact with other practitioners in the field from around the world and even persons not working in the field of diplomacy.  It was a tremendous experience, that I benefited from greatly!

Simone Francois-Whittier, Foreign Service Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Trinidad and Tobago (September 2014)
Lidon

I was particularly impressed by the lecture texts. They are thought provoking, insightful and of the highest quality. My knowledge and ability to apply diplomatic law has been immeasurably boosted.

Charles Lidon, Legal Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Guyana (September 2014)
Abah

I fell in love with the course from the start as I found it interesting, informative and very well structured. Sharing knowledge and experiences with my course mates and the tutor changed my misconceptions and gave me a clear perspective to why privileges and immunities are granted to diplomats as their functions are tied to these privileges and immunities.

Ene Abah, Political Secretary, Embassy of Belgium, Nigeria (September 2012)
Carmichael

My participation in Diplo's Diplomatic Law: Privileges and Immunites course has been a very rewarding experience.  I now have a clearer understanding of the historical development of diplomatic practice, the reasons that diplomatic agents are granted privileges and immunities and of the systems that govern these privileges and immunities.  The course, as well, cleared up many misconceptions about diplomatic entitlements.  I unreservedly recommend this course to professionals involved in diplomatic practice, diplomatic law or anyone else with an interest in this field of study and I guarantee that you will never regret making this investment.

Marissa Carmichael, Foreign Service Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Guyana (October 2011)
Koller

Being new to the world of Diplomatic Law made me wonder how well I would be able to follow the course. The course however was very well structured, starting with great historical background and finishing up with detailed information of every topic regarding to Privileges and Immunities, which created great understanding especially for non-practicing diplomats like me. In addition, the great interaction between the lecturer and the students as well as a realistic exam provided a practical framework to the theory learned and therefore made the course highly recommendable.

Markus Koller, Marketing Assistant, Philips Austria (October 2011)

Diplomatic Protocol and Etiquette

Angelova

I was very happy to see the Diplomatic Protocol and Etiquette on this year's list. The courses are very interactive, provide lots of practical examples, case studies, real time discussions among the participants and the lecturer. The lecture texts and the assignment questions are well-balanced and encouraging analytical and critical thinking. I particularly appreciated the case studies and practical examples provided throughout the course.

Radka Angelova, Administrative Assistant, OSCE High Commissioner on National Minorities (July 2012)
Lundgren-Resenterra

Not only did I acquire a lot of useful practical information about protocol and etiquette, but it helped me equally to widen my understanding of the different topics discussed. The fact that the class was heterogeneous and the participants attending the course from different backgrounds made the on-line sessions very stimulating and resourceful.

Mariangela Lundgren-Resenterra, Deputy Secretary General in charge of diplomatic and military affairs at the Department of Security of the State of Geneva, Switzerland (July, 2012)

Diplomatic Theory and Practice

McLeish-Hutchinson

Diplomatic Theory and Practice is an exceptional course. As a practicing diplomat, I thought this course would have been a walk in the park, but I was pleasantly surprised with the multifaceted approach to diplomacy it presented.  My knowledge and skill set in diplomacy have been enriched because of this programme and I recommend it with my highest enthusiasm.

Roxie McLeish-Hutchinson, Foreign Service Officer, Policy and Research Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Grenada (April 2011)
Mohammed

Diplomatic Theory and Practice is an excellent introduction to the field of diplomacy, providing both a theoretical and practical framework. Diplo Foundation adopts a holistic approach to the course, and the dialogue afforded by it through online class sessions is both insightful and thought provoking. What I found particularly intriguing was the topic of negotiation as it served to not only inform me of the different stages of the negotiation process, but to also enlighten me on the different tactics used by negotiators, as well as strategies for maintaining the momentum of negotiations, something that I will no doubt use in my own negotiations-whether they are personal or work-related. Thank you Diplo Foundation for an eye-opening course on the multi-faceted nature of diplomacy and its utility in the international affairs of today.

Bilqis Mohammed, International Relations Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Trinidad and Tobago (April 2011)

E-Diplomacy

Berlanga

The most useful aspect of the course on E-Diplomacy is the awareness of the importance of e-tools in the work of a diplomat and a government agency. If diplomacy actors would be more convinced of the benefits of social media and e-tools in their everyday work life would be much easier. The feedback from the organizers of the course as well as from the participants was fully enriching. The elaboration of a strategy of social media with a practical purpose made the course more grounded and real.

Ingrid Berlanga, Third Secretary, Political, Commercial and Cultural Attachè at the Embassy of Mexico in Kenya (June, 2012)
Mora Salcedo

The DiploFoundation platform for online learning is the best I have experienced. The hypertext function allows you to have a discussion as if you were actually in a classroom, making learning from other participants easy and fruitful.

Fernando de la Mora Salcedo, Consul for Legal and Political Affairs, Consulate General of Mexico in Phoenix, Arizona (June, 2012)
Micallef

E-diplomacy breaks new ground in addressing the foremost challenges facing international relations in the digital era. A focused and practice-oriented online tuition programme, enriched through the wealth of personal knowledge and experiences of the participating professionals from such a diverse multicultural background, the course provides an overarching insight into the organisation of the communication functions of 21st Century diplomacy.

Martin Micallef, Public Affairs & Communications, Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean (July, 2013)
Russell-Rivoallan

The course’s workload fit well into my busy schedule, and I was able to put to use almost immediately the new skills and knowledge I acquired. Weekly lectures are extremely informative and present a wealth of current knowledge about e-diplomacy. The corresponding weekly assignments allow students the opportunity to demonstrate an understanding of the knowledge acquired and we are strongly encouraged to apply that knowledge as it relates to our own work experiences. What’s great about this programme is that you can do the learning on your own time, but also have a weekly check-in with other students that come from all over the world! 

Frederick W. Russell-Rivoallan, Special Assistant to the Chairperson of the Executive Board of UNESCO (July 2014)
D'Agostino

I believe that we have a social responsibility in sharing what we know for a better public health. The course helped me not only to have new knowledge and to expand my personal networks, but also to reflect on how important the ICTs are for diplomacy, in particular in Global Health Diplomacy, on this Information Society.

Marcelo D'Agostino, Senior Advisor, Knowledge Management Health Information and Analysis Department of Communicable Diseases, Health Analysis, PAHO (July 2015)

Economic Diplomacy

Ceballos

It was an awesome, eye-opening, interesting, and very formative experience that helped to broaden my perspective on the complex scenario of economic diplomacy in our increasingly changing world. It gives you an accurate and updated view, as well as the tools you need to face the many challenges of economic diplomacy in the 21st century.

Berenice Díaz Ceballos, Head of the Consulate of Mexico in Oxnard, California (December 2013)

Education Diplomacy

Glasgow-Charles

As a prospective education expert, the course Education Diplomacy has helped to equip me with key knowledge and skills of diplomacy, which have become increasingly important, and arguably mandatory for education leaders, given the global agenda for and relevance of education. I highly recommend this compact yet manageable course, not only to leaders in the field of education, but anyone with a genuine interest in improving the quality of education.

Kimberly Glasgow-Charles, Doctoral student, University of the West Indies, School of Education, St. Augustine Campus, Trinidad (April 2016)

Global Health Diplomacy

Banerjee

The course was able to highlight the changes in global health in recent decades, the reason for linking global health to foreign diplomacy, and the concepts behind it.

Dr Anshu Bannerjee, WHO Representative, Sudan (2013)

Humanitarian Diplomacy

Åberg

Using practical skills gained in this course, I have been able to support my National Society in developing its humanitarian diplomacy work. This process is still on its way but already I have seen staff members taking a more strategic approach into humanitarian diplomacy. This is very rewarding. Read a interview with Leena-Kaisa on Diplo's blog.

Leena-Kaisa Åberg, Special Adviser to the Secretary General, Finnish Red Cross (May 2013)
Ali

This course developed my skills to handle organising workshops, national level meetings, and advocacy with government ministries, international organisations, and donors. All of these things are very important parts of my work. I also organised a humanitarian diplomacy orientation among the staff at my national society. I was able to share what I had learned for the benefit of my colleagues and organisation.
Read an interview with Mohamed Keramot on Diplo's blog.

Mohamed Keramot Ali, Field Coordinator, Community-based Development Initiatives, Bangladesh Red Crescent Society (June 2013)
Griffith

Both professionally and personally, I now have a broader understanding of the humanitarian world, the fundamental laws and principles, and the different actors who are part of it. This has expanded my thinking about possible partnerships and alliances in order to strengthen my work in the Federation, and the different aspects and steps I need to consider in order to make such partnerships happen. Read an interview with Margarita on Diplo’s blog.

Margarita Griffith, Learning Officer, America Zone Office, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, Panama (June 2014)
Slade

The most valuable part of the course was learning from the contributions of other students. The classroom was filled with people from all over the world with tangible experience in responding to disasters, armed conflict, health issues, and development and emergency situations. Their experiences highlighted where humanitarian diplomacy and advocacy works in reality, and where the theory needs to be re-worked or re-conceptualised to fit the real-world. Read an interview with Richard on Diplo’s blog.

Richard Slade, Assistant/Project Officer for International Humanitarian Law and Movement Relations, Australian Red Cross (June 2014)
Chehab

I’ve really learned some practical applications of humanitarian diplomacy, including humanitarian persuasion and negotiation, that’s really rooted in humanitarian principles and mixing a sort of theory and practice in a way that is very approachable. 
Visit the IFRC learning network blog to read Carine's full learning story.

Carine Chehab, Strategic Partnership and Humanitarian Diplomacy Officer, IFRC (July 2012)
Faysal

It was more than excellent. But it was very challenging at the same time. Every participant brought his/her own knowledge and experience... The joint assignments and the interaction in the course — the 'hyper texting' mainly — gave the course an exciting and lively aspect, and enabled all participants to enrich the content and ongoing discussions.
Visit the IFRC learning network blog to read Hosam's full learning story.

Hosam Faysal, Disaster Management Coordinator, IFRC (MENA) (July 2012)

The Humanitarian Diplomacy online course 'competently delivered a practical understanding of a comprehensive body of knowledge on a complex subject to students with diverse academic, language and learning cultures. The initiative’s impressive results can be accredited to a vastly diverse student profile, the quality of course material, the senior expertise evidenced by the course lecturers and a well-designed and efficiently managed interactive learning environment.'

Independent Review, February 2012 Humanitarian Diplomacy Online Course (July, 2012)

Internet Governance in the MENA Region

Kaleel Alkassab

The online course Internet Governance in the MENA Region was a great experience. The sessions and contact with other students really helped me to gain a wide view on the topics of IG, cyber protection & online human rights. I learned a lot from the experiences of other people in this course, as I found we have common interest and goals in our region from sharing our experiences and knowledge, it encouraged me to use what I learned in the course to improve the development of IG in my country. The course coordinators were helpful and motivated us to engage in the course activities and interactions; they provided me with the essential guidance to be able to fulfill the course goals.

Wamith Kaleel Alkassab, Iraqi blogger, member of Iraqi social media network INSM (November, 2015)
Dawahi

The course gave me an insight into the world of Internet Governance from its different aspects. The interactive approach used by the tutors was very rewarding in engaging the students in the debate. What is unique about the course is that each participant helped putting together the pieces of Internet Governance's puzzle. The most challenging themes were Internet Infrastructure and surveillance as they tackled technical concepts. Yet I surpassed my own expectations and managed to get a strong grip of these themes.

Khouloud Dawahi, Law student at Faculty of Juridical Political Sciences of Tunis, Civil Society Activist, IPA author (November, 2015)

Introduction to Internet Governance

Kamilia

Diplo's Internet governance course is a great initiation to bridging the conversation of state and non-state actors on a daily basis, besides the formal IG forums or conferences, providing a much-needed opportunity to have multistakeholder discussion. I am participating in the Master program of Contemporary Diplomacy (Internet Governance), and I believe this course is not only for academic achievement purposes, but also for supporting and enriching the development of IG with many inputs, ideas, insights, also critiques from diverse actors of government, civil society, technical experts, and academics at the same time.

Kamilia, Researcher, Institut Pelangi Perempuan, Indonesia (April 2015)

Language and Diplomacy

Mohamed

This course is very important for any diplomat: from negotiating to public speaking, listening, and skills needed for press conferences, the course covers all the essentials needed to become a formidable diplomat. Skills learnt in this course have helped me in my everyday professional work and made me skilful at diplomatic communications.

Miruza Mohamed, Director, Environment Department, Maldives Ministry of Environment and Energy (April 2014)
Sandoval Flores

This creative course gave me the opportunity to think again about some basic concepts which are vital for diplomacy, such as: the relevance of framing an argument; language as action; construction of a narrative, and the power of persuasion. Moreover, we had fruitful interactive sessions where we discussed thought-provoking questions, among others: Should diplomacy be judged by its management of ambiguities or for its capacity to deliver results? How can we deal with, and understand, the multiple possible meanings of the unsaid?

Fernando Sandoval Flores, Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of Mexico in Greece (Arpil 2014)
Daglish

Diplo's Language and Diplomacy course explores the fascinating world of intricate word plays underlying current day diplomacy. The content is stimulating and thought-provoking, not in the least due to the outstanding contributions of Dr Biljana Scott. I gained a deeper understanding of language’s complexity and creativity, and a greater appreciation of its limitations and susceptibility to misuse. I believe this course will benefit those wishing to engage in diplomacy or keen to unravel the twists and turns of spin doctors.

Kristen Daglish, International Project Coordinator, Peace and Reconciliation Program, Medellin Local Administration, Colombia (January 2008)
Ceceña

I highly recommend this dynamic and thought-provoking course for all diplomats who wish to improve their communication skills, both as speakers/writers and listeners. Through Language and Diplomacy, Dr. Biljana Scott shares excellent tools to achieve our goals, not only by expressing what we want to say (and knowing what need not be said), but also by having a better understanding of the other party’s intention through their utterances. A true key to mastering the art of diplomacy!

Nayeli Ceceña, Third Secretary, Embassy of Mexico in Georgetown, Guyana (December, 2012)

Master/Postgraduate Diploma in Contemporary Diplomacy

Desruisseaux

Following 10 years of humanitarian work, the Postgraduate Degree in Contemporary Diplomacy proved a valuable academic complement to my professional experience and proved helpful in facilitating access to increasingly senior leadership positions.

Francois Desruisseaux, Director, Disaster Response Program, CARE, Port-au-Prince, Haiti (November 2010)
Kalou

I was interested in the deeper intricacies of diplomacy in the 21st century, given the major tectonic shifts in today's geopolitics. The Master in Contemporary Diplomacy programme delivered by providing us with a more holistic approach which featured the mainstream key players perspective as well as the often 'silent' dimension of small states. The programme exceeded my expectations... it pushed our traditional boundaries to expand our body of knowledge beyond our comfort zones.
Read an interview with Setaita on Diplo's blog.

Setaita Tupua Kalou, Senior Assistant Secretary (Political & Treaties), Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Fiji (May 2013)
Swift

The Master in Contemporary Diplomacy with a specialisation in Internet Governance provides the ideal frame for my disparate pieces of knowledge about the Internet. The wide variety of courses to choose from for the online learning sessions meant that I could tailor the programme to advance my Internet studies while honing my diplomatic skills to match.
Read an interview with Kevon on Diplo's blog.

Kevon Swift, Business Analyst, External Relations Unit, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of Trinidad and Tobago (June 2013)
Alihusain-del Castilho2

The Master/PGD in Contemporary Diplomacy allowed me to increase my knowledge and skills at a tremendous speed and depth, while remaining in and performing stronger in my job. I was very impressed by the professional support provided by the professors and fellow students allowing for a total immersion in all aspects regarding contemporary diplomacy from different global perspectives. This programme is truly a valuable experience that provides critical skills and knowledge in a motivating environment.

Angelic Caroline Alihusain-del Castilho, Ambassador, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Suriname; Named to IGF MAG 2013 (November 2010)
Nyirenda-Jere

The IG route in the MA Contemporary Diplomacy Programme has enabled me to situate the focus of my work on Internet Governance in Africa in a space that is directly relevant to the mandate of the NEPAD Agency. The Programme is highly interactive and provides opportunities to shape one’s learning by blending personal experiences with the experiences of other participants. I have found immense value in being able to bring together the two worlds of Internet Governance and Diplomacy.

Towela Nyirenda-Jere, Programme Manager, e-Africa Programme, NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency (June 2013)

Multilateral Diplomacy

García Doval

Multilateral Diplomacy is an in-depth course on a wide spectrum of aspects of such diplomatic sphere, ranging from its history to its actors, rules, methods or processes. Focusing on the United Nations and their main organs as examples (but not only), the course covers a comprehensive analysis of all these issues through the study of actual UN documents, and through discussions about ongoing debates on new developments and reforms. A balanced combination of practical and academic perspectives, and constant interaction with peers and devoted and encouraging lecturers from both fields, make this course really useful both for practicing diplomats and students coming from other backgrounds, like me.

Diego García Doval, Secretary General, Carral Town Council, Spain (September 2015)
Khonje

This course is an intriguing eye-opener to the UN system. I found most interesting the UN decision making process and the traditional as well as emerging techniques of building support in the multilateral fora. I am now more confident and eager to embrace challenges to develop my career.

Fitina Khonje, Officer for Press, Cultural and Development Cooperation, German Embassy in Malawi (September 2012)
de Boer

The course gives the students an excellent insight in the theory and the practice of multiparty negotiations. Many of the course participants are using gained knowledge immediately in their work. This has resulted in high quality debates between students and tutors, all the more since the course coincided with the yearly session of the UN General Assembly. What was taught to us, we immediately were able to use in our daily routine. My general knowledge of international relations has grown significantly, as well as my overview of the diplomatic practices used during high-level negotiations.

Lutine de Boer, Senior Advisor Environmental Policy of city of Alkmaar, The Netherlands (September 2011)

Negotiation Skills

Ekine

My knowledge about the soft skills of negotiation, mediating, collaborating and such was greatly deepened, access to up to date information was liberal and the interactions all through the course was friendly. Education Diplomacy course being my first online course opened my eyes to the roles of both state and non state actors in promoting the advancement of the education sector. It was a very detailed, informative and all encompassing course with a huge source of resources both human and material. The openness with which participants from different parts of the globe shared during the chat rooms made it more impactful and meaningful to our everyday work at the community level and still be globally relevant (feedback on Education Diplomacy course 2016).

Adefunke Ekine, Deputy Director (Research and Innovation), Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun, Ogun State, Nigeria (December 2016)

Public Diplomacy

Sanchez Salazar

I am delighted by the way Diplo managed the Public Diplomacy course. It was my first time taking a cyber class and the experience was very rewarding. Working with such high level professionals and friendly coordinating team was a plus. It also gave me the opportunity to relate with colleagues overseas and allow me to experience working with a global team in a virtual fashion. The e-course was academically challenging and provided me with an impressive amount of useful information. The course made me reflect about the importance of the dimension of Public Diplomacy in the practice of diplomacy.  I am ready to implement all those study hours in my daily work as diplomat

Maria Guadalupe Sanchez Salazar, Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of Mexico in Jamaica, Kingston (April 2011)
Brima

At DiploFoundation, the sky is your limit to acquire knowledge. Relevant materials/resources abound. Only one's available time determines one's limit. Before I started studying with Diplo I was literally in the dark as far as diplomacy today is concerned and where it is heading to. I relied on the knowledge of some 'experienced ' colleagues in my ministry for nine years; little did I know that this so-called experience had 'expired'. DiploFoundation gives the most current of what's happening in the diplomatic world today.

What I personally enjoy at Diplo is the convenience with which I can learn so much. I am in my job full time and learning as much as I can, strengthening my capacity and widening my horizon in the field of diplomacy to infinitely increase my confidence.

For me there were a few challenges in coping with the Information Technology involved but later I enjoyed almost everything as I found myself in the middle of a dynamic learning  system where everything I learn is relevant for my job/country and life in general.

I feel like being a permanent part of the system at DiploFoundation.

Kai Sonda Brima, First Secretary, Sierra Leone High Commission (April 2011)
Stöger Rodriguez

It's important for a diplomat to keep up to date and in touch with the academic world, but we normally don´t have time to attend classes because of our families or/and demanding jobs. I found in DiploFoundation more than a pragmatic solution; I discovered a community of people with the same interests and commitment with international affairs. The interaction within the group is enriching and it stimulates the respect of each other. Public Diplomacy used to be for me a vague concept and the course changed my point of view. Indeed I´ve adopted some ideas in my daily work. I highly recommend this course and I´m especially thankful to the tutors.

María Victoria Stöger Rodriguez, Deputy Consul of Argentina in Bonn, Germany (April 2011)
Durante2

The Public Diplomacy course was exceptional… engaging and intellectually stimulating! It was delivered with such attention to everyday applications and current affairs, that from the first day I could relate to this relatively new area of diplomacy, despite my lack of diplomatic experience. I now have a broader appreciation of the respective roles of stakeholders, within government and non-governmental. To those who have an opportunity to take this course, I would simply say, ‘seize it!’

Anna Durante, Crown Counsel, Government of the Virgin Islands (April 2010)
Scroll to Top