Search form

21st Century Diplomacy

Plummer-Antoine

With the advent of globalisation, diplomacy has transformed both in content and nature. Participating in this course has provided greater insight as it relates to the changes in international affairs as a result of globalisation, and how foreign ministries have had to adapt to such changes. My participation in the course has also broadened my knowledge and enhanced my ability to reason.

Shannica Plummer-Antoine, Foreign Service Officer, Regional Unit, Political and Economic Division, Ministry of External Affairs, International Trade and Civil Aviation of Saint Lucia (October 2015)
Durazo

Useful and thorough insight to contemporary diplomacy for practitioners of this discipline. The course conveys opportune reflections on the evolution of diplomatic tasks and encourage new approaches to diplomacy through intense feedback and benchmarking.

Rafael Barcelo Durazo, Chargé of political and human rights affairs, Mexican Embassy in Costa Rica (September 2011)
Bailey

The course offered an opportunity to understand the impact of globalization in diplomacy and in facilitating greater use of information and communication technology and better access to information by the public, who want to have a say in diplomacy. I particularly liked the area of Public Diplomacy and the importance of understanding the sources, influence and contribution of the public in diplomacy, and calls for the consideration of their views in making policies and decisions in diplomacy.

Elizabeth Bailey, Deputy Permanent Secretary, Department of External Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Economic Growth, Job Creation, External Affairs and Public Service, Saint Lucia (September 2017)

Advanced Diploma in Internet Governance

Mounier

The Advanced Diploma in Internet Governance is ideally suited for busy professionals who need to get a good grasp of the core Internet technical infrastructure and how it relates to global public policy issues. The course material is constantly updated by experts to reflect the latest developments of this fast-paced environment and this leads to extremely interesting and stimulating discussions with fellow students and lecturers. The programme challenges your ideas and broadens your perspectives in how the Internet is really governed.

Gregory Mounier, Head of Outreach, European Cybercrime Centre (EC3), EUROPOL (December 2016)
Gener

In obtaining the Advanced Diploma in Internet Governance, I took three online courses at DiploFoundation, i.e., Introduction to Internet Governance, E-Diplomacy, and Internet Technology and Policy. As a mid-level diplomat exposed mainly to traditional diplomatic concerns, the program provided comprehensive working knowledge on the technical and policy aspects of the international governance of the Internet. The courses provided an overview of Internet Governance, probed the challenges and opportunities faced by diplomatic actors in the Internet Age, and comprehensively tackled the main online technologies and their nexus with key Internet principles. I was particularly impressed with the in-depth knowledge and diverse backgrounds of the lecturers and my classmates. The online discussions were stimulating and cutting-edge. This is an excellent program for those who wish to understand and help shape the ever-expanding online world.

Ryan Gener, Director of the Visa Division at the Department of Foreign Affairs, Philippines (September 2017)
Orok-Tambe

This programme enabled me to understand the important dimension which Cyberspace and online communications bring to foreign policy and national, regional and global public policy. From the perspective of a participant from a developing country, the online courses help to bridge the knowledge gap by creating a unique experience for the learner who is able to grasp so much from the shared experiences and perspectives of lecturers and colleagues from across the world. Opportunities for applied knowledge also enable participants to integrate core skills and build expertise which they can rapidly put into practice.

Manyi Arrey Orok-Tambe, Foreign Affairs Officer in the Ministry of External Relations of the Republic of Cameroon (April 2018)

Bilateral Diplomacy

Huggins

After more than ten years immersed in the multilateral side of the practice of diplomacy and international relations, the Bilateral Diplomacy Course provided me with an invaluable complement to my experience. Though challenging and intense, Ambassador Rana guided us in a manner that allowed us to exchange and discuss the topics and generate ideas, as well as to apply what was learnt to our real-life situations. I was particularly drawn to the myriad theories and aspects of cultural diplomacy, and the role it plays in the successful practice of diplomacy and negotiations, which provided me with new skills that are useful to my work.

Myrna Huggins, Foreign Service Officer III, Head, Economic and Environment Unit, Multilateral Relations Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Communications, Trinidad and Tobago (June, 2011)
Pollard

E-learning with DiploFoundation was a great experience. The innovative online sessions and contact with other students really helped to gain a wide view on the topics discussed. Despite having practised bilateral and multilateral diplomacy, I found the course informative and focussed, such as the benefits and drawbacks of both soft and hard power. This in particular proved useful in completing my understanding of how diplomacy can work at different levels.

Guy Pollard, Second Secretary, Conventional Weapons, UK Disarmament Delegation, Geneva (September 2006)

Capacity Development

Kongin

The course enabled me widen my understanding of different approaches to capacity development. I have been able to review our organizational understanding of capacity development within the context of our beneficiaries and target groups. Most importantly, applying the questions - why capacity development and for whom - has enabled my team and I to review how we view capacity development and reflect on areas of improvement, especially the need to carry out organizational capacity assessments right at the beginning of a program as opposed to mid-way or towards the end.

Harriet Kongin, Adviser, Policy and Strategy, UNAIDS Kenya (April 2015)
Horemans

The course helped me to integrate a lot of knowledge I had gathered over the years into a more coherent framework. This framework was supported by the design of the course which followed a strict logical and temporal pattern, coupled with reflection on one’s own work.

Bart Horemans, Project Coordinator, National Organisational Capacity Development Program, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Belgian Development Agency (April 2015)
Ruiz Gayol

I gained theoretical knowledge of the different stages of a capacity development initiative, such as: assessing capacities at an early stage, assessing change readiness, and mapping a change process based on a theory of change. I knew the importance of these steps, however, I hadn't yet performed them in a coherent, sequential, and systematic way, which allowed for adaptation to any given circumstance.

Diego Ruiz Gayol, Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of Mexico in Haiti (April 2015)
Lim

This online course is a good combination of different methods including reading the simple but good-quality materials with further references, the chat room session to reflect and share practical examples, and explanation of topics by experienced facilitators and moderators. I really learned a lot from the course starting from assessment of the capacity needs until measuring the results of the CD interventions. The course helped me to consolidate my existing knowledge on CD. I will include some of the things I learned from the course into my work where possible such as designing of CD interventions (setting goals, objectives and indictors), choosing a good fit of interventions and measuring the results of CD.

Phai Lim, Program Development Specialist, VBNK, Cambodia (April 2018)
Stoz

The Diplo Capacity Development course is the first e-learning that really convinced me! I’ve got the information I expected and the exchanges and debates with the team and other participants were really useful, full of meaning and instructive. What I really appreciate is the quality of the written materials and references for additional documentation. I can use all this information for direct inputs in my work and field missions.

Vanessa Stoz, Public Finance Management Expert – Lux-Development (March 2017)
Hernandez Morales

The Capacity Development course was a great incentive for my career. I was looking for a course with practical examples, concrete explanations and interaction with people with different experience and backgrounds. I got this and more. From the practical point, the course pace fit perfectly in my busy schedule. It offered extremely interesting reading materials, a dedicated and professional group of mentors, updated case studies in accordance with challenges we find in real life situations. I particularly liked the explanation on Theories of Changes, a key feature that played a big role for my interviews for the new role I am responsible for now. I am applying the learning, in the hope to become a better humanitarian professional.

Sonia Judith Hernandez Morales, Country Representative for the Netherlands Red Cross in the Philippines (March 2017)

Children and Mobile Technology

Faasau

This course has provided me with some necessary tools required to address child online protection; furthermore it established appropriate networks. The most practical thing that I can take away from this course is the sample strategy, this will be the basis on which a child online protection initiative or even cybersecurity can be founded.

Cecily Faasau, Legal Counsel, Office of the Regulator, Samoa (August 2015)
Williams

I can honestly say that I have gotten a wealth of knowledge from this course. These tools will now help me to be better able to contribute to the Internet landscape in my country; something I intend to do without delay.

Ervin Williams, Director of the National Telecommunications Regulatory Commission, St Kitts and Nevis (August 2015)

Consular and Diaspora Diplomacy

Donciu

This course has taught me how essential consular work is, how important my job is and how much I can do for others. That encourages me to do my best for helping and serving my nationals abroad.

Mirela Donciu, Consul, Consulate General of Romania in Bologna, Italy (December 2011)
Mckenzie

The course coordinators…were quite thorough and patient during the initial practices, which made me comfortable and confident, this being my first online class. I not only met and networked with other Foreign Service Officers from around the world, but was exposed to and learned in-depth consular information, experiences and dexterity from all the countries that participated. I also learned about the importance and mutual benefits involved with the relationship between countries and their diaspora, as well as how technology and well-rounded consular officers can work hand-in-hand to provide renown consular services to citizens and foreigners alike.

Charmaine L Mckenzie, Foreign Service Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Commonwealth of the Bahamas (December 2013)
Durante

Before taking the Consular Diplomacy course, my view of consular work was limited to the narrow perspective that it deals mainly with the issuance of visas and passports. The Consular Diplomacy course steers one away from that stereotypical and restrictive view. It emphasizes the gamut of roles which consulates play, their increasing importance in bridge-building amongst states and peoples and their function as a dynamic facet of a country’s internal and foreign policies. Although my career is not in consular services, I have benefited tremendously from this course and from the excellent presentation of cutting-edge issues in consular diplomacy.

Anna Durante, Crown Counsel, Government of the Virgin Islands (August 2010)
Koch

The quality of materials provided and suggested readings, the focus both on theory and practice, the intense interaction with colleagues around the world and, most particularly, the conscious dedication of our tutors – constantly reviewing our progress and encouraging further thought – are some of the relevant features of the course that I deem important to highlight. I can only add that I still miss our online sessions and daily interaction and, most certainly, I look forward to taking up another DiploFoundation course.

María Celeste Koch, Deputy Chief of Mission Embassy of the Republic of Argentina in Chile (August 2010)
Dougall

Indeed it was an exciting and an extraordinary experience.  Diplo is giving me this golden opportunity, on reaching the age of sixty, so that instead of thinking of retiring, there is much scope in sharing acquired experiences and knowledge with other similar minded persons for mutual benefit.

Joseph Dougall, Honorary Assistant High Commissioner for Sierra Leone in Malta (August 2010)

Cybersecurity

Galgal

A relevant and applicable look at cybersecurity, taking into account the different aspects of the subject matter. The intuitive e-learning environment allows for informative discussion and interaction between participants and instructors alike. Also, the global composition of both the participants and instructors allows one to gain a useful insight into diverse experiences and views of cybersecurity.

Kasek Galgal, Tutor/Lecturer, Physics Division, University of Papua New Guinea (December 2014)

Cybersecurity for South-Eastern Europe

Zavalani

It’s an excellent course, enjoyable, informative, engaging, and very authoritative. This course develops the knowledge and skills needed to master the core concepts in cyber security. The lectures and complementary reading material were extremely useful. The most valuable part of the course was learning from the contributions of other students.

Valbona Zavalani, Head of IT & Security Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Albania (May 2016)

Development Diplomacy

Nyirenda-Jere2

Diplo's Development Diplomacy course is an insightful exploration of the actors, issues and processes that shape international development. The course is structured in a way that allows students to understand the origins and intricacies of development cooperation while having the space to discuss and debate contemporary issues. Being able to relate the underlying history and current debates to my own work was an invaluable experience. I would recommend this course for anyone involved in international development, diplomats and non-diplomats alike.

Towela Nyirenda-Jere, Programme Manager, e-Africa Programme, NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency (December 2013)
Ignatius

…a fabulous journey through the complex and multifaceted territory of diplomacy and development for busy practitioners. The format offers flexibility and convenience to avoid conflict with your official duties. The course is interactive and provides tremendous latitude for engaging in hypertext dialogue with lecturers and other students of diverse countries, cultures and experiences. The most rewarding was the ability to dissect the theory, in the context of daily practice, with adept support from lecturers who have practical field experience. 

Jean Ignatius, IICA Representative in Jamaica, Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA) (December 2012)
Canseco Gómez

I found the Development Diplomacy course challenging and inspiring in equal measure. The lectures and complementary reading material were extremely useful. Even more valuable were the lucid comments and authoritative yet flexible guidance from the course coordinator and lecturers. I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone wishing to deepen their understanding of the most crucial issues in today’s development agenda.

Gonzalo Juan Carlos Canseco Gómez, Director General for Foreign Policy Planning, Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs (December 2012)
Alihusain-del Castilho

What I enjoyed most from the Diplo course [Development Diplomacy] was the fact that it opened up a window of  global  experiences and opinions to me through my classmates and professors, allowing me to increase my knowledge and skills at a tremendous speed and depth. It was also very important to me that the Diplo course could be combined with my work schedule…

Angelic Caroline Alihusain-del Castilho, Ambassador, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Suriname (December 2008)

Digital Commerce (just-in-time Geneva-based course)

Maposa

I loved how the course was structured, and the hypertext feature. It really made the learning experience excellent and more interactive.

 

Isaac Maposa, Co-founder and Marketing Director, Web Enchanter P/L (December 2017)
Hassan

The course has been an excellent source of information and up-to-date knowledge on the various paradigms of digital commerce. For developing countries like Pakistan, such capacity building opportunities are mandatory to stay updated with the latest developments and innovations in the digital world. I would like to thank DiploFoundation for according me this wonderful opportunity to learn and interact with fellows around the world. I wish to remain engaged with DIPLO and contribute back to your work.

Waqas Hassan, Assistant Director (International Liaison & Training), Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (December 2017)
Kimuli

The entire course has been knowledge enhancing. Being an entrepreneur, every aspect of what has been studied will be crucial to my business in the present and the future because this is the heart of our businesses if we are to think beyond ourselves as entrepreneurs. Thank you for appreciating the needs of the developing and least developing countries through capacity building such as this program. These are the steps that will propel us to drive to better and more fulfilling economies.

Dorothy Wegoye Kimuli, Founder & Managing Director, D&M Group International Limited (December 2017)
Ugbajah

This course has been an eye opener for me. I have learnt so much on digital commerce. I appreciate the approach of giving background on how a particular technology works before discussing the policy/regulatory issues. That makes for a better understanding. This course has also made me to take deeper interest in the policy and regulatory framework for e-commerce within my country as I had to check out what is obtainable in my country for each of the issues discussed. In so doing, I'm on my way to becoming an expert not just from the international perspective but from the national perspective. I hope to keep making reference to the knowledge gained here.

Leonard Otuonye Ugbajah, Resident Representative of CUTS International in Nigeria (December 2017)
Nandini

The online course provided a very helpful overview of the history and state of play of digital commerce debates. I found the course reading material and the peer learning methodologies that were used extremely enriching. What I found most interesting and helpful were the modules on the WTO, the introductory module on the different business models in the age of the Internet, and the discussion threads on data governance frameworks.

Nandini Chami, Senior Research Associate, IT for Change (December 2017)

Digital Policy and Internet Governance (just-in-time New York-based course)

Tupou

The IG course takes a unique approach to modern digital diplomacy. As an emerging field, the practical, thorough, in-depth course materials encourage one’s active participation and interest in diplomacy. The currency of real world examples plus an excellent network of contacts from the diplomatic, international fora, governments, telecommunication to the business communities has made this course very engaging and rewarding!

Olita Tupou, Prime Minister's Office, Tonga (April 2017)
Gener

Introduction to Internet Governance (IG) was one of the most engaging and interactive online courses I have ever taken. I learned a lot from the cross-cutting expertise and perspectives of the professor and co-participants from the public and private sectors. As a diplomat immersed in more traditional concerns, the course was eye-opening. IG is an increasingly important 21st century concern. I highly recommend the course to anyone desiring to have a meaningful overview of the multidimensional issues involved, with a view to subsequently deepening knowledge or making concrete contributions in the international, regional or local arena.

Ryan Francis D. Gener, Director, Visa Division, Office of Consular Affairs, Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of the Philippines (April 2017)

Diplomacy of Small States

Tupua Kalou

The Diplomacy of Small States course was an eye opener for me, especially as a government official from a small island state (Fiji). The online lectures, information sharing with other students and lecturers and other resources provided by DiploFoundation were rich, focused on the areas of interest to me and value adding on many dimensions, as we draw parallels to world events, not only of the past but those actually happening on the ground. As a diplomat, it has broadened my knowledge on how small states should be strategically leveraging themselves as important actors in international diplomacy and that size does not necessarily determine the boundaries of outreach and influence in 21st century diplomacy.

Setaita Tupua Kalou, Second Secretary, Fiji Embassy in Brussels (June, 2012)
Shadood

The content provoked the essential strategic thinking required to maximize opportunities for small states in pursuing diplomatic relations across countries and organisations. Coming from a small developing country, this course has provided me with the necessary tools to aid in the execution of my duties.

Safraaz Ahmad Shadood, Foreign Trade Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Guyana (July, 2013)
Williams2

As a diplomat of a small state, operating in a dynamic and rapidly changing international environment, I must sharpen my skills and be equipped with the right tools in order to be successful. I particularly enjoyed the rich, constructive exchange of views/ideas among participants. The opportunity to undertake a case study on one small state was truly enlightening. The bonus was the flexibility of studying at my own convenience from the comfort of my home or office and receiving certification, without leaving my country.

Nicholette Williams, Assistant Director/Foreign Service Officer IV, International Organisations Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade of Jamaica (July 2015)
Wurie

Coming from a small state with limited resources constraints, training of diplomat designates becomes a difficult task. DiploFoundation, in this regard, has provided me with the golden opportunity for which I have been yearning for as a Foreign Service Officer to further my education. I have also had the opportunity of interacting with colleagues in the global classroom, thereby making the teaching methodology within reach. The subject, Diplomacy of Small States, has further strengthened my knowledge and belief that regardless of constraints, some small states have shown their ability to project formidable foreign policy initiatives. The course has to a large extent helped to broaden my horizon at a global level, thanks to the weekly assignments from colleagues, analysing the different perspectives on how small states practice their diplomacy. I therefore, wish to encourage more  Diplomats from emerging economies to capture this opportunity from DiploFoundation in their effort to strengthen their diplomatic skills.

Momodu Wurie, Head of Chancery, Embassy of the Republic of Sierra Leone in Tripoli, Libya (June 2011)

Diplomatic Law: Privileges and Immunities

Celis Mejia

A practical approach to the most relevant matters of immunities and privileges as part of Diplomatic Law. It is a useful tool to ensure the applicability of the regulations from a functional approach. I recommend it for everyone involved in diplomatic and public international legal activities.

Luis Alberto Celis Mejia, Legal, Economic and Public Affairs at Consulate of Mexico in Saint Paul, Minnesota. (September 2016)
Vardeva

Not only did I gain theoretical knowledge on the subject, but my practical skills regarding the implementation of the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations (1961) have tremendously expanded. I would highly recommend this course to any professionals who wish to gain insight into the subject and benefit, the way I have, from the interactive approach, the quality of the provided materials and the excellent skills of the lecturers.

Rayna Vardeva , External Relations Division, Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) (September 2016)
Francois-Whittier

I would recommend Diplomatic Law: Privileges and Immunities to anyone looking for a deeper understanding of privileges and immunities. It's not just a course for practitioners but one which could benefit anyone from government employees, police officers, lawyers, employees of international organizations and even students. The lecturer was extremely knowlegeable and the administrator was extremely helpful and attentive. I had the opportunity to interact with other practitioners in the field from around the world and even persons not working in the field of diplomacy.  It was a tremendous experience, that I benefited from greatly!

Simone Francois-Whittier, Foreign Service Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Trinidad and Tobago (September 2014)
Lidon

I was particularly impressed by the lecture texts. They are thought provoking, insightful and of the highest quality. My knowledge and ability to apply diplomatic law has been immeasurably boosted.

Charles Lidon, Legal Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Guyana (September 2014)

Diplomatic Protocol and Etiquette

Lundgren-Resenterra

Not only did I acquire a lot of useful practical information about protocol and etiquette, but it helped me equally to widen my understanding of the different topics discussed. The fact that the class was heterogeneous and the participants attending the course from different backgrounds made the on-line sessions very stimulating and resourceful.

Mariangela Lundgren-Resenterra, Deputy Secretary General in charge of diplomatic and military affairs at the Department of Security of the State of Geneva, Switzerland (July, 2012)
Angelova

I was very happy to see the Diplomatic Protocol and Etiquette on this year's list. The courses are very interactive, provide lots of practical examples, case studies, real time discussions among the participants and the lecturer. The lecture texts and the assignment questions are well-balanced and encouraging analytical and critical thinking. I particularly appreciated the case studies and practical examples provided throughout the course.

Radka Angelova, Administrative Assistant, OSCE High Commissioner on National Minorities (July 2012)

Diplomatic Theory and Practice

Yusuf

This course provided me with an avenue to share knowledge on diplomacy and analysis on current international relations events. I realized that I really missed the interactive and stimulating discussions of my class when new developments in the planned U.S – North Korea summit arose, and I was eager to share my thoughts. As a lecturer of diplomacy, the class is significantly helping in my quest of shaping the future generation of Nigerian diplomats.

Badriyya Yusuf, Assistant Lecturer, Department of History and International Studies, Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano, Nigeria (April 2018)
García Doval

Diplomatic Theory and Practice is an insightful and critical introduction to the main historical and current aspects of diplomacy. Continuous interaction with peers from all over the world and devoted management by professors and DiploFoundation staff make you forget it is an online course. I definitely recommend it to newcomers to diplomacy like me.

Diego García Doval, Secretary General, Carral Town Council, Spain (April 2016)
Tupou

Diplo's Diplomatic Theory and Practice course is truly a MUST for any newcomer or professional diplomat who is in need of polishing or refreshing their knowledge on the basics of diplomacy in the modern world. Personally, I found the course of great benefit because it gave me the opportunity to apply theory to reality by exploring how different aspects of diplomacy are practiced on a daily basis and learning to recognize such theories at first glance. It is indeed one of the most insightful, dynamic and interactive courses I have ever taken, a real eye opener.

Kathleen Nina Tupou, Assistant Secretary, Palace Office, Tonga (April 2016)
Lozano

Diplomatic Theory and Practice course has been a wonderful surprise. The main lecture was enormously useful to my academic and personal knowledge in diplomacy. What I like the most was that I got the great opportunity to learn from all my course mates' own “diplomatic” experiences. Truly thankful to course coordinators for their patience during the course. A really challenging course and worth every single day of it!

Alejandro Lozano, Commissioner of Political and Cultural Affairs, Embassy of Mexico to Vatican City (Holy See) (April 2016)

E-Diplomacy

Mora Salcedo

The DiploFoundation platform for online learning is the best I have experienced. The hypertext function allows you to have a discussion as if you were actually in a classroom, making learning from other participants easy and fruitful.

Fernando de la Mora Salcedo, Consul for Legal and Political Affairs, Consulate General of Mexico in Phoenix, Arizona (June, 2012)
Russell-Rivoallan

The course’s workload fit well into my busy schedule, and I was able to put to use almost immediately the new skills and knowledge I acquired. Weekly lectures are extremely informative and present a wealth of current knowledge about e-diplomacy. The corresponding weekly assignments allow students the opportunity to demonstrate an understanding of the knowledge acquired and we are strongly encouraged to apply that knowledge as it relates to our own work experiences. What’s great about this programme is that you can do the learning on your own time, but also have a weekly check-in with other students that come from all over the world! 

Frederick W. Russell-Rivoallan, Special Assistant to the Chairperson of the Executive Board of UNESCO (July 2014)
Castro Sierra

A great opportunity to explore different tools of social media in a safe environment. At the same time, it allows you to participate actively with people around the world; this offers you a rich and diverse insight of their own work as diplomats from other countries, members of non-profit organizations… It teaches you a new way of including “diplomacy” in the 21st century by using new and up-to-date technologies that allows us to reach our diaspora and communicate safely and more efficiently. It is very dynamic, interactive and fun!

Beatriz Castro Sierra, Border Specialist, Embassy of Mexico in Washington, D.C. (July 2016)
D'Agostino

I believe that we have a social responsibility in sharing what we know for a better public health. The course helped me not only to have new knowledge and to expand my personal networks, but also to reflect on how important the ICTs are for diplomacy, in particular in Global Health Diplomacy, on this Information Society.

Marcelo D'Agostino, Senior Advisor, Knowledge Management Health Information and Analysis Department of Communicable Diseases, Health Analysis, PAHO (July 2015)

Economic Diplomacy

Ceballos

It was an awesome, eye-opening, interesting, and very formative experience that helped to broaden my perspective on the complex scenario of economic diplomacy in our increasingly changing world. It gives you an accurate and updated view, as well as the tools you need to face the many challenges of economic diplomacy in the 21st century.

Berenice Díaz Ceballos, Head of the Consulate of Mexico in Oxnard, California (December 2013)

Foundations in Education Diplomacy

Ekine

My knowledge about the soft skills of negotiation, mediating, collaborating and such was greatly deepened, access to up to date information was liberal and the interactions all through the course was friendly. Education Diplomacy, being my first online course, opened my eyes to the roles of both state and non state actors in promoting the advancement of the education sector. It was a very detailed, informative and all encompassing course with a huge source of resources both human and material. The openness with which participants from different parts of the globe shared during the chat rooms made it more impactful and meaningful to our everyday work at the community level and still be globally relevant.

Adefunke Ekine, Deputy Director (Research and Innovation), Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun, Ogun State, Nigeria (December 2016)
Glasgow-Charles

As a prospective education expert, the course Education Diplomacy has helped to equip me with key knowledge and skills of diplomacy, which have become increasingly important, and arguably mandatory for education leaders, given the global agenda for and relevance of education. I highly recommend this compact yet manageable course, not only to leaders in the field of education, but anyone with a genuine interest in improving the quality of education.

Kimberly Glasgow-Charles, Doctoral student, University of the West Indies, School of Education, St. Augustine Campus, Trinidad (April 2016)

Global Health Diplomacy

Banerjee

The course was able to highlight the changes in global health in recent decades, the reason for linking global health to foreign diplomacy, and the concepts behind it.

Dr Anshu Bannerjee, WHO Representative, Sudan (2013)

Humanitarian Diplomacy

Jadallah

This course offers skills development in advocacy, negotiation, communication, formal agreements, and other measures through sharing experiences with students around the world and with distinguished professors. It was a wonderful course, I have gained a lot of experience, and now I use it in my field.

Fadi Jadallah, Syrian Arab Red Crescent /DRC Projects Coordinator, Damascus, Syria (March 2018)
Chihana

The course gave me immersive, critical, and dynamic skills best suited to my profession whilst still working for my organisation. I have gained incredible confidence and exposure. I had the best experience with lectures and students from the various parts of the world with different backgrounds. It was very easy to learn as I found everything in one place.

Ivy Chifundo Chihana, Senior Legal Advisor, Office of the Commissioner for Refugees; Supervisor, Refugees Status Determination Unit, Ministry of Home Affairs and Internal Security, Malawi (March 2018)
Busch

What was most valuable and had a direct impact on my work was the frequent and direct exchange with several very experienced Humanitarian Diplomacy practitioners – both through the weekly online discussion sessions and through an individually assigned tutor during the research phase. I really got a lot of valuable input and advice out of that. Most of all, learning was interesting and enjoyable because of all that interaction.

Barbara Busch, Advocacy Advisor International Cooperation, Austrian Red Cross (March 2018)
Åberg

Using practical skills gained in this course, I have been able to support my National Society in developing its humanitarian diplomacy work. This process is still on its way but already I have seen staff members taking a more strategic approach into humanitarian diplomacy. This is very rewarding. Read a interview with Leena-Kaisa on Diplo's blog.

Leena-Kaisa Åberg, Special Adviser to the Secretary General, Finnish Red Cross (May 2013)
Kouame

Quelle expérience merveilleuse que le cours de diplomatie humanitaire. L'agencement des différentes sessions et programmes nous permet une compréhension totale des différentes étapes telles que la négociation, la médiation, et la collaboration avec les populations en situation de détresse. Pour une personne voulant intégrer le système des N.U, ce cours est un tremplin pour une bonne maîtrise de l'action humanitaire. On y apprend toute une panoplie de thèmes des principes humanitaires, du protocole de la Fédération Internationale de la Croix Rouge en passant par les acteurs humanitaires. J'y ai acquis des connaissances en diplomatie humanitaire et en négociation sans oublier mes nouveaux amis dans le monde entier. Le cours est certes en anglais mais avec un niveau de langue accessible à tous.

Akissi Ghislaine-Aurelie Kouame, Chargee de Zone Projet Resocialisation des Mineurs en Difficulte avec la Loi Man Cote d'Ivoire, Chef Projet Désarmement Communautaire Zone Ouest Cote d'Ivoire (March 2018)
Griffith

Both professionally and personally, I now have a broader understanding of the humanitarian world, the fundamental laws and principles, and the different actors who are part of it. This has expanded my thinking about possible partnerships and alliances in order to strengthen my work in the Federation, and the different aspects and steps I need to consider in order to make such partnerships happen. Read an interview with Margarita on Diplo’s blog.

Margarita Griffith, Learning Officer, America Zone Office, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, Panama (June 2014)
Slade

The most valuable part of the course was learning from the contributions of other students. The classroom was filled with people from all over the world with tangible experience in responding to disasters, armed conflict, health issues, and development and emergency situations. Their experiences highlighted where humanitarian diplomacy and advocacy works in reality, and where the theory needs to be re-worked or re-conceptualised to fit the real-world. Read an interview with Richard on Diplo’s blog.

Richard Slade, Assistant/Project Officer for International Humanitarian Law and Movement Relations, Australian Red Cross (June 2014)
Elbarghathi

Coming from the field, I did not expect to learn such rich information in such a unique way. This will be a great base for my humanitarian work, and a start in my career progress. I will continue by using this course as a guide for the work of my National Society.

Dr Taha K Sultan Elbarghathi, Head of International Relations & Cooperation, Migration Focal Point, Libyan Red Crescent - General Secretariat  (March 2018)

Internet Technology and Policy: Challenges and Solutions

Saveska

This course has helped me to understand the main technical and policy aspects of the Internet, which enabled me to continue my education in the digital sphere at the graduate programme in which I am enrolled. The comprehensive course materials provided by DiploFoundation ensured that my perspective on these issues is current and multifaceted.

Virdzinija Saveska, Master student of International Security at Sciences Po - Paris School of International Affairs (September 2017)

Introduction to Internet Governance

Tupou

The IG course takes a unique approach to modern digital diplomacy. As an emerging field, the practical, thorough, in-depth course materials encourage one’s active participation and interest in diplomacy. The currency of real world examples plus an excellent network of contacts from the diplomatic, international fora, governments, telecommunication to the business communities has made this course very engaging and rewarding!

Olita Tupou, Prime Minister's Office, Tonga (April 2017)
Gener

Introduction to Internet Governance (IG) was one of the most engaging and interactive online courses I have ever taken. I learned a lot from the cross-cutting expertise and perspectives of the professor and co-participants from the public and private sectors. As a diplomat immersed in more traditional concerns, the course was eye-opening. IG is an increasingly important 21st century concern. I highly recommend the course to anyone desiring to have a meaningful overview of the multidimensional issues involved, with a view to subsequently deepening knowledge or making concrete contributions in the international, regional or local arena.

Ryan Francis D. Gener, Director, Visa Division, Office of Consular Affairs, Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of the Philippines (April 2017)
Omari

I found many benefits in the Internet Governance course. But the two major ones which stood out in the training are, appreciating the exposure data gets online (data security), and the importance of ensuring that everyone participates in policy work to improve the Internet experience for everyone.

Abdalla Omari, Chief Executive Officer, Kenya Network Information Centre (KeNIC) (April 2018)
Hausding

The Introduction to Internet Governance class gave me a perfect overview over Internet governance history, processes, organisations, and the current topics.

Michael Hausding, Competence Lead DNS & Domain Abuse, SWITCH-CERT (April 2018)

Language and Diplomacy

Ceceña

I highly recommend this dynamic and thought-provoking course for all diplomats who wish to improve their communication skills, both as speakers/writers and listeners. Through Language and Diplomacy, Dr. Biljana Scott shares excellent tools to achieve our goals, not only by expressing what we want to say (and knowing what need not be said), but also by having a better understanding of the other party’s intention through their utterances. A true key to mastering the art of diplomacy!

Nayeli Ceceña, Third Secretary, Embassy of Mexico in Georgetown, Guyana (December, 2012)
Mohamed

This course is very important for any diplomat: from negotiating to public speaking, listening, and skills needed for press conferences, the course covers all the essentials needed to become a formidable diplomat. Skills learnt in this course have helped me in my everyday professional work and made me skilful at diplomatic communications.

Miruza Mohamed, Director, Environment Department, Maldives Ministry of Environment and Energy (April 2014)
Sandoval Flores

This creative course gave me the opportunity to think again about some basic concepts which are vital for diplomacy, such as: the relevance of framing an argument; language as action; construction of a narrative, and the power of persuasion. Moreover, we had fruitful interactive sessions where we discussed thought-provoking questions, among others: Should diplomacy be judged by its management of ambiguities or for its capacity to deliver results? How can we deal with, and understand, the multiple possible meanings of the unsaid?

Fernando Sandoval Flores, Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of Mexico in Greece (Arpil 2014)
Daglish

Diplo's Language and Diplomacy course explores the fascinating world of intricate word plays underlying current day diplomacy. The content is stimulating and thought-provoking, not in the least due to the outstanding contributions of Dr Biljana Scott. I gained a deeper understanding of language’s complexity and creativity, and a greater appreciation of its limitations and susceptibility to misuse. I believe this course will benefit those wishing to engage in diplomacy or keen to unravel the twists and turns of spin doctors.

Kristen Daglish, International Project Coordinator, Peace and Reconciliation Program, Medellin Local Administration, Colombia (January 2008)

Master/Postgraduate Diploma in Contemporary Diplomacy

Tupou

Diplo’s Master of Contemporary Diplomacy is dynamic, interactive, and provides a good basis for understanding today’s globalised and interconnected society. The three main highlights for me were: (i) the wealth of knowledge divulged by the experienced instructors in the field of diplomacy; (ii) the detailed, structured and collaborative nature of the course materials and discussions and (iii) the chance to share and learn from my colleagues about their nations, experiences and worldviews. Through this course, I have gained a newfound confidence and worldview of the role of Small Pacific Islands in the diplomatic arena.

Kathleen Nina Tupou, Senior Assistant Secretary, Palace Office, Nuku'alofa, Tonga (December 2017)
Kalou

I was interested in the deeper intricacies of diplomacy in the 21st century, given the major tectonic shifts in today's geopolitics. The Master in Contemporary Diplomacy programme delivered by providing us with a more holistic approach which featured the mainstream key players perspective as well as the often 'silent' dimension of small states. The programme exceeded my expectations... it pushed our traditional boundaries to expand our body of knowledge beyond our comfort zones.
Read an interview with Setaita on Diplo's blog.

Setaita Tupua Kalou, Senior Assistant Secretary (Political & Treaties), Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Fiji (May 2013)
Swift

The Master in Contemporary Diplomacy with a specialisation in Internet Governance provides the ideal frame for my disparate pieces of knowledge about the Internet. The wide variety of courses to choose from for the online learning sessions meant that I could tailor the programme to advance my Internet studies while honing my diplomatic skills to match.
Read an interview with Kevon on Diplo's blog.

Kevon Swift, Business Analyst, External Relations Unit, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of Trinidad and Tobago (June 2013)
Desruisseaux

Following 10 years of humanitarian work, the Postgraduate Degree in Contemporary Diplomacy proved a valuable academic complement to my professional experience and proved helpful in facilitating access to increasingly senior leadership positions.

Francois Desruisseaux, Director, Disaster Response Program, CARE, Port-au-Prince, Haiti (November 2010)
Nyirenda-Jere

The IG route in the MA Contemporary Diplomacy Programme has enabled me to situate the focus of my work on Internet Governance in Africa in a space that is directly relevant to the mandate of the NEPAD Agency. The Programme is highly interactive and provides opportunities to shape one’s learning by blending personal experiences with the experiences of other participants. I have found immense value in being able to bring together the two worlds of Internet Governance and Diplomacy.

Towela Nyirenda-Jere, Programme Manager, e-Africa Programme, NEPAD Planning and Coordinating Agency (June 2013)
Alihusain-del Castilho2

The Master/PGD in Contemporary Diplomacy allowed me to increase my knowledge and skills at a tremendous speed and depth, while remaining in and performing stronger in my job. I was very impressed by the professional support provided by the professors and fellow students allowing for a total immersion in all aspects regarding contemporary diplomacy from different global perspectives. This programme is truly a valuable experience that provides critical skills and knowledge in a motivating environment.

Angelic Caroline Alihusain-del Castilho, Ambassador, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Suriname; Named to IGF MAG 2013 (November 2010)

Multilateral Diplomacy

Khonje

This course is an intriguing eye-opener to the UN system. I found most interesting the UN decision making process and the traditional as well as emerging techniques of building support in the multilateral fora. I am now more confident and eager to embrace challenges to develop my career.

Fitina Khonje, Officer for Press, Cultural and Development Cooperation, German Embassy in Malawi (September 2012)
Henry

The course on Multilateral Diplomacy was comprehensive, insightful and innovative. The issues covered were timely and relevant, and the online chat sessions allowed for knowledge sharing by a wide cross-section of officials, including the facilitators working in the field.

Roshelle Henry, Foreign Service Officer Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Jamaica (September 2017)
Amakali

I have gained a wealth of knowledge in this field and I have enhanced my ability to think critically. I particularly gained knowledge and insight into the methods of multilateral diplomacy, as well as the current transformations affecting the multilateral system. The weekly assignments where challenging and got me into actively researching and reading. Our lecturers guided me in a manner that allowed me to exchange and discuss my point of view and provided me with comments to my assignments that helped me improve my writing skills and arguments.

Bertha Amakali, Director of Information and Research, Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation, Namibia (September 2017)
García Doval

Multilateral Diplomacy is an in-depth course on a wide spectrum of aspects of such diplomatic sphere, ranging from its history to its actors, rules, methods or processes. Focusing on the United Nations and their main organs as examples (but not only), the course covers a comprehensive analysis of all these issues through the study of actual UN documents, and through discussions about ongoing debates on new developments and reforms. A balanced combination of practical and academic perspectives, and constant interaction with peers and devoted and encouraging lecturers from both fields, make this course really useful both for practicing diplomats and students coming from other backgrounds, like me.

Diego García Doval, Secretary General, Carral Town Council, Spain (September 2015)

Negotiation Skills

Hernandez Saab

One of the focus areas of the course which I appreciated very much is the power of reframing as a very productive tool to shift or re-adjust a non-working strategy.

Jorge Hernandez Saab, Diplomatic Attaché, Embassy of Mexico in Saudi Arabia (December 2017)
Owino

From the negotiation skills course, I learnt that everyone is a negotiator at one time or another. However, when one engages in diplomacy to advance education, health, Internet governance and other sectors, distinctive types of negotiations as well as certain specifics must be adhered to for the process to be successful. This course helps in understanding these specifics.

Elizabeth Akinyi Owino, Lecturer, Department of Educational Psychology, Moi University, Kenya (January 2018)

Public Diplomacy

Gjorgjinska

Diplo’s Public Diplomacy Course was a great capacity building experience for me. It was intensive and very rewarding. The course design offered excellent platform where I could learn and discuss the latest developments in both theory and practice with experienced lecturers and colleagues from all around the world. Hearing perspectives from different regions provided me with valuable insights. Though I practice public diplomacy in my day-to-day work, Diplo’s course added value to my work. I strongly recommend it to both young and seasoned diplomats, for practitioners of Public Diplomacy, and also to scholars and researchers.

Jana Gjorgjinska, Public Diplomacy and Sweden Promotion Officer, Embassy of the Kingdom of Sweden in Skopje, Macedonia (April 2016)
Sealey

I found the discussion sessions in the Public Diplomacy course to be very useful, in particular the guidance received from the facilitators. The sharing of practical examples and interesting insight by a diverse group of individuals, from developed as well as developing countries, were also impactful. However, of particular interest to me, as my country begins to embrace the changes in methods of communicating, were the discussions on Public diplomacy in the information age. The shared examples have given me effective ways to best engage and partner with the various publics.

Deniese Sealey, Assistant Director/Foreign Service Officer IV, Bilateral Relations Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Jamaica (April 2016)
Hroneska

Through real-case country examples, supported with a theoretical debate, the course offered a new, fresh insight in the contemporary issues of Public Diplomacy. For me, as a diplomat, the discussion among the participants has created an exceptional opportunity for sharing original and modern ideas for developing public diplomacy strategies, nation branding and communication with the public.

Natasha Hroneska, Head of Unit, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Macedonia (April 2016)
Stöger Rodriguez

It's important for a diplomat to keep up to date and in touch with the academic world, but we normally don't have time to attend classes because of our families or/and demanding jobs. I found in DiploFoundation more than a pragmatic solution; I discovered a community of people with the same interests and commitment with international affairs. The interaction within the group is enriching and it stimulates the respect of each other. Public Diplomacy used to be for me a vague concept and the course changed my point of view. Indeed I've adopted some ideas in my daily work. I highly recommend this course and I'm especially thankful to the tutors.

María Victoria Stöger Rodriguez, Deputy Consul of Argentina in Bonn, Germany (April 2011)
Durante2

The Public Diplomacy course was exceptional… engaging and intellectually stimulating! It was delivered with such attention to everyday applications and current affairs, that from the first day I could relate to this relatively new area of diplomacy, despite my lack of diplomatic experience. I now have a broader appreciation of the respective roles of stakeholders, within government and non-governmental. To those who have an opportunity to take this course, I would simply say, ‘seize it!’

Anna Durante, Crown Counsel, Government of the Virgin Islands (April 2010)
Scroll to Top